MINUTES OF AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall Portsmouth on Tuesday, 12 December 2023 at 2.00 pm

Council Members Present

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor Tom Coles (in the Chair)

Councillors

Yinka Adeniran Dave Ashmore Matthew Atkins Chris Attwell Simon Bosher Hannah Brent **Rvan Brent** Stuart Brown Peter Candlish Cal Corkery Raymond Dent Chris Dike Jason Fazackarley George Fielding Lewis Gosling Graham Heanev Ian Holder Suzy Horton Lee Hunt

Mark Jeffery Abdul Kadir Leo Madden Brian Madgwick George Madgwick Hugh Mason **Kirsty Mellor** Leonie Oliver Steve Pitt **Darren Sanders** Asghar Shah Russell Simpson John Smith Judith Smyth **Emily Strudwick** Mary Vallely Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE Daniel Wemyss Matthew Winnington

125. Apologies for Absence & Declarations of Interest

Apologies for absence had been received on behalf of Councillor Kimberly Barrett, Councillor Charlotte Gerada and Councillor Benedict Swann.

There were no declarations of interest.

126. Deputations from the Public under Standing Order No 24.

The Lord Mayor advised that no deputation requests had been received.

127. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen - Rob New

The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Rob New as an honorary alderman would need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting.

2 12 December 2023

lt was

Proposed by Councillor Simon Bosher Seconded by Councillor Lewis Gosling

That the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Rob New, a former member of Portsmouth City Council.

The proposer of the motion gave a short speech in support of the motion.

Following a vote, it was:

RESOLVED that the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Rob New and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to him at a future city council meeting.

128. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen - Lynne Stagg

The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Lynne Stagg as an honorary alderwoman would need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting.

lt was

Proposed by Councillor Darren Sanders Seconded by Councillor Steve Pitt

That the title of honorary alderwoman be conferred on Lynne Stagg, a former member and Lord Mayor of Portsmouth City Council.

The proposer of the motion gave a short speech in support of the motion.

Following a vote, it was:

RESOLVED that the title of honorary alderwoman be conferred on Lynne Stagg and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to her at a future city council meeting.

129. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen - Luke Stubbs

The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Luke Stubbs as an honorary alderman would need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting. lt was

Proposed by Councillor Simon Bosher Seconded by Councillor Daniel Wemyss

That the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Luke Stubbs, a former member of Portsmouth City Council.

The proposer of the motion gave a short speech in support of the motion.

Following a vote, it was:

RESOLVED that the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Luke Stubbs and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to him at a future city council meeting.

130. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen - Linda Symes

The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Linda Symes as an honorary alderwoman would need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting.

It was

Proposed by Councillor Simon Bosher Seconded by Councillor John Smith

That the title of honorary alderwoman be conferred on Linda Symes, a former member of Portsmouth City Council.

The proposer of the motion gave a short speech in support of the motion.

Following a vote, it was:

RESOLVED that the title of honorary alderwoman be conferred on Linda Symes and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to her at a future city council meeting.

The meeting concluded at 2.17 pm.

.....

Lord Mayor